South West - South West - Berlin Southwest

Berlin Dahlem: The “German Oxford”

On greenfield land

Berlin’s Southwest is an important life sciences location that has grown over decades – and has been a traditional science hub for more than a hundred years. In 1912, the Kaiser Wilhelm Institutes for Chemistry and Physical Chemistry – predecessors of today’s Max Planck Institutes – were founded here on “greenfield land”. Since its inception in 1948, the Free University Berlin has also been using the former buildings of the Kaiser Wilhelm Society. The vision: A “German Oxford”, a top-level German science hub with international reach.

 

Heisenberg, Haber, Hahn

In Dahlem, Nobel Prize winners conducted highly specialised research in pioneering fields such as genetics, physical chemistry, and nuclear physics and wrote science history. Soon, many talented and renowned researchers from all over the world quickly moved to Dahlem. Some of the most important but also the most fatal scientific discoveries ever made were made here. In 1939, Otto Hahn, Fritz Straßmann, und Lise Meitner discovered nuclear fission in Dahlem. Albert Einstein also left his mark here. Lest we forget the Uranprojekt under Werner Heisenberg, Germany’s nuclear weapons programme, resulting in the first-ever nuclear reactor. Today, the “German Oxford” and its Dahlem Campus is one of the four largest science locations in Germany. During the day, about 35,000 students turn the smallest part of Steglitz-Zehlendorf, Berlin’s southwestern district, into a bustle of activity. Additionally, the university is home to 4,400 PhD students, lecturers, and other staff. 

 

Planetary institute, clubhouse, start-up mansion

Remarkable things have happened behind the thick walls of the 1912 mansion on the corner of Altensteinstrasse 40 and Fabeckstrasse in the last hundred years. It was once the Royal Astronomical Calculation Institute, where planetary motion was studied, and a club house called “Melodie”, where American forces went to have a dance. Today, the Free University’s so-called start-up mansion is home to teams of business founders, focusing on innovative diagnostics in the field of autoimmune diseases, smart technologies for people with nerve damage, and AI-based support for neurodermatitis patients.

 

A ward for research-driven companies

The building complex on Fabeckstrasse 62 was built as a modern hospital in the 1970s, which served as the main health centre for the U.S. Army in Berlin. It had a capacity of roughly 220 beds. When the Americans left Berlin in 1994, the hospital was handed over to the State of Berlin, who left it to Charité, Berlin’s university hospital. In recent years, the BAM Federal Institute for Materials Research and Testing used the former hospital building. Most recently, it was used as the backdrop for a film. Now, finally, this former U.S. military hospital in close vicinity to the Free University’s Dahlem Campus is being transformed into an innovation centre for young, research-driven companies.

Zukunftsort Berlin SOUTHWEST

300 ha area, 5,000 companies, 32,000 employees, 13 scientific institutes, 35,000 students

Südwest - Südwest - Berlin Südwest

Berlin Dahlem: Das „deutsche Oxford“

Auf der grünen Wiese

Der Berliner Südwesten ist ein bedeutender, über Jahrzehnte gewachsener Life-Science-Standort – und seit mehr als hundert Jahren ein traditioneller Wissenschaftsstandort. Die 1912 hier angesiedelten Kaiser-Wilhelm-Institute für Chemie und Physikalische Chemie – Vorläufer der heutigen Max-Planck-Institute – wurden auf der „grünen Wiese“ gegründet. Seit der Gründung 1948 nutzt auch die Freie Universität Berlin ehemalige Gebäude der Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gesellschaft. Die Vision: Ein „deutsches Oxford“, ein exzellentes deutsches Wissenschaftszentrum mit internationaler Strahlkraft.

 

Heisenberg, Haber, Hahn

In Dahlem forschten Nobelpreisträger hoch spezialisiert in Pionierfeldern wie Genetik, physikalische Chemie oder Atomphysik und schrieben damit Wissenschaftsgeschichte. Schnell zogen talentierte und renommierte Forscher aus aller Welt nach Dahlem. Einige der bedeutendsten, aber auch der schwerwiegendsten wissenschaftlichen Entdeckungen wurden hier gemacht. Otto Hahn, Fritz Straßmann und Lise Meitner entdeckten 1939 in Dahlem die Kernspaltung. Auch Albert Einstein hinterließ Spuren. Unvergessen ist das deutsche Uranprojekt unter Werner Heisenberg, das zum Bau des ersten Uranreaktors führte. Heute ist das „deutsche Oxford“ mit seinem Campus Dahlem einer der vier größten Wissenschaftsstandorte in Deutschland. Etwa 35.000 Studierende sorgen tagsüber für ein belebtes Stadtbild in einem der kleinsten Ortsteile des südwestlichen Bezirks Steglitz-Zehlendorf. Hinzu kommen rund 4.400 Doktorandinnen und Doktoranden, Lehrende und weitere Beschäftigte der Universität.

 

Planeteninstitut, Clubhaus, Start-up-Villa

Bemerkenswerte Dinge haben auch die dicken Mauern der 1912 erbauten Villa an der Altensteinstraße 40/Ecke Fabeckstraße während der letzten hundert Jahre erlebt. Wo im Königlichen Astronomischen Rechen-Institut Planetenbewegungen berechnet wurden und nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg amerikanische Streitkräfte im Clubhaus „Melodie“ tanzten, arbeiten heute Gründungsteams in der Start-up-Villa der Freien Universität Berlin. Sie befassen sich mit innovativen Diagnostika im Bereich der Autoimmunerkrankungen, smarten Technologien für Menschen mit Nervenschäden oder KI-basierter Begleitung von Neurodermitis-Patienten.

 

Station für forschungsorientierte Unternehmen

Der Gebäudekomplex an der Fabeckstraße 62 wurde in den 1970er-Jahren als modernes Krankenhaus errichtet, das der US-Army in Berlin als Gesundheitszentrum diente. Die Kapazität lag bei rund 220 Betten. Mit dem Abzug der Amerikaner 1994 wurde das Hospital dem Land Berlin übergeben, welches das Gebäude der Charité überließ. In den letzten Jahren  nutzte die Bundesanstalt für Materialprüfung und -forschung (BAM) das ehemalige Krankenhaus. Zuletzt diente es als Film-Set. Nun wandelt sich das ehemalige US-Militärkrankenhaus in unmittelbarer Nähe zum Dahlemer Campus der Freien Universität zu einem Innovationszentrum für junge und forschungsorientierte Unternehmen.

Zukunftsort Berlin SÜDWEST

300 ha Fläche, 5.000 Unternehmen, 32.000 Beschäftigte, 13 wissenschaftliche Einrichtungen, 35.000 Studierende